What are the registers?

The Mental Capacity Act 2005 (the “Act”) creates three registers that the Office of the Public Guardian maintains:

  • The register of Lasting Powers of Attorney (LPA);
  • The register of Enduring Powers of Attorney (EPA); and
  • The register of Court of Protection (the “Court”) orders appointing Deputies.

What information is on the registers?

The registers contain detailed information about registered LPAs, EPAs and orders appointing Deputies and information about cancellations of registrations.

The registers do not have information about pending LPA, EPA or Deputy applications – i.e. applications that are being processed but have not yet been registered with the OPG.

Who can access information on the registers?

Any person is entitled to make an application to the OPG to search the registers, and can do so by completing the relevant application form(s) and paying the relevant search fee.  There are two types of search - first tier and second tier depending on the level of information that the applicant wishes to obtain.

What about the Data Protection Act?

The information contained in OPG registers is covered under the exemptions to the Data Protection Act. More information on the exemptions of the Data Protection Act can be obtained from the Link to external site Information Commissioners Office website.

For further information on the registers, the information contained in them and how to apply to search them please read our booklet PDF Office of the Public Guardian Registers (0.15mb).

Back to top